Recipe: Soft and Moist Milk Bread-a failure.


Despite having lived in California where artisan breads abound,  I am craving for soft and moist white bread. Hah, the healthy living of California didn’t really grown in me, despite best efforts. Looking at recipes on the internet, I found that to achieve this kind of consistency and texture, a roux is needed. They call in zanshoung (sp) in Asian baking.

The second time, using different recipes, both failed. The first time, the dough was too sticky, the second time the bread was too hard, it didn’t rise property.

There is nothing wrong with the recipe that I  used, my mistake for not testing my  yeast, it is dead. I tested it as an afterthought. I know, I sure will figure out the mystery of baking eventually.

Leave a Reply

